Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry {book review}

I was able to preview Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry thanks to NetGalley and Harper Audio.

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by Joya Goffney is an #OwnVoices contemporary YA romance that reads as a Netflix movie. In fact, the book is filled with pop culture references and many story progressing vehicles used in popular teen movies. Quinn, is a senior on the verge of graduating high school and carrys several heavy burdens. She maintains her sanity by keeping a journal of lists, but once that journal gets into the hands of a blackmailer, Quinn’s world gets turned upside down.

Fans of Jenny Hans To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before will appreciate the feeling of dread as some of Quinn’s innermost secrets are out in the open. Who can Quinn trust? A surprise romance develops as an unexpected ally helps to figure out who has the journal. Told with honesty and candor, Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry, shows the current struggle with identity in a post Obama country, the power struggles of teen status and bullying, and most of all, the power of connection – all from the point of view of a beautiful black teen. As she seeks her journal, Quinn is surprised to find more of herself.

This was a fun read and an excellent debut novel! I loved all the older pop culture references.

Leave a comment